Dark Knight III: The Master Race- Issue #1

After hearing about the release of a third part of Frank Miller’s “Dark Knight” trilogy (starting with “Dark Knight Returns” and “Dark Knight Strikes Again”) I put my subscription order in with Forbidden Planet and was thrilled to receive my first issue a few days ago.

As I’ve only ever read comics as compilations of complete stories/graphic novels I’ve been looking forward to reading a story as it’s released and so am hoping to review each issue here. Although I won’t be revealing the plot exactly, there may be inadvertent spoilers below so be warned!

Cover

The cover is simple but effective showing the Dark Knight in a very Black and White style.

IMG_7398

Artwork

I like the artwork as it’s very atmospheric and nothing at all like DKII (in a good way). You can see more of the art work on the Forbidden Planet site here.

Storyline

The story seemed quite slow with snapshots of many different characters including Wonder Woman & Superman/Supergirl. (My wife particularly loved the image of Wonder Woman carrying her son in a sling and overtly breast feeding him!) I can understand that it’s simply setting the scene and this will take an issue or two. The story also ends of a cliff hanger with the Dark Knight finally appearing (but is it Bruce and if not, where is he?)

Overall

Seems like a good start and I’m looking forward to the next issue

 

Leave a Reply

